Azure UseDevelopmentStorage=false Deployment Hangs

Posted on May 6, 2011

1


I’ve been trying to deploy a new staging  deployement  of my website atplatforms and have been running into difficulties. I’m using VisualStudio to package the deployment using the publish dialog with the “create service package only” option selected. I’m then using the Azure management console to try and upload the package.

Everything seemed to go fine with the deployment until the console tried to start the instance.  The package uploaded ok , the instance was created ok, but It hung on start. First time I left it over night and it didn’t work, second time I left a few hours and it didn’t work. Bear in mind the instance has been created but not started, the instance is there so I’m getting charged for compute usage, this is very frustrating.

After a lot of swearing, I worked backwards through what I had changed recently and found this in the ServiceConfiguration.cscfg file

    <ConfigurationSettings>
      <Setting name="Microsoft.WindowsAzure.Plugins.Diagnostics.ConnectionString" value="UseDevelopmentStorage=false"  />
    </ConfigurationSettings>

This is the problem UseDevelopmentStorage=false. Then I remembered, just before trying to deploy I’d changed this to see what would happen but forgot to change back. What needs to happen if you are not using development storage is you need to use your real azure storage acccount.

    <ConfigurationSettings>
        <Setting name="Microsoft.WindowsAzure.Plugins.Diagnostics.ConnectionString" value="DefaultEndpointsProtocol=https;AccountName=yourAccountName;AccountKey=LLpuH/oiruetuert0erererererU7euXUdfdfddf653/LGJ93rereVw=="  />
    </ConfigurationSettings>

You get the AccountName and Key value from the Azure Management Console. After you sign in navigate to “Hosted Services, CDN and Storage” in the bottom menu, then click “Storage Accounts”. From this screen select the storage account you want to use, the AccountName and Key are in the left-hand info box.

Posted in: Azure